Skinny Weekend Away


A weekend away can be quite daunting for the weight watcher, worried that weeks of effort could be unravelled within 2 days of indulgence. One thing is true! If you are not going to deprive yourself it is likely you will gain some weight. Providing you are prepared to return to healthier habits when you return home and think ahead about what you are prepared to indulge in and what’s off limits, you can minimise the damage and shed the extra pounds gained soon after!  This is how I approached my weekend away.

I decided my indulgences for the weekend would be a cooked breakfast, at least one 3 course dinner including desert plus wine with lunch and dinner. I also resolved to eat less bread, avoid fried foods and choose fish, poultry and game over other fattier meats! So I ate a cooked English breakfast on both mornings and this included grilled tomatoes and mushrooms so that I was getting some of my 5-a-day. I skipped the toast and cereal as these are foods I eat for breakfast at home and this weekend was about having a little of what I fancy! I chose to eat fruit rather than drink fruit juice as you consume less calories this way and more fibre!

I decided that lunch was going to be the meal in which I would be the least indulgent. This meant I had to avoid the rather tempting trio of meat pies on the menu when we stopped for a pub lunch on the first day. I chose roast venison instead and I was not disappointed! On the second day, I had roast turkey, equally good! I ate the vegetables before the potatoes and Yorkshire pudding so that if I felt full and couldn’t finish the dish, I would have eaten the healthier and less calorific part of the meal.

In the evenings, I avoided filling myself up on bread before the starter (and you don’t need it if you’ve already eaten well twice that day). I chose a fish dish on both days and again, ate the vegetables before the potatoes! I also avoided chips and opted for crushed new potatoes or a jacket potato to save on calories I preferred to squander on things I love more.  Although I wanted a desert, I found that I was already quite full and happy to share with someone!

Sticking to my chosen food indulgences meant I didn’t feel guilty about having wine and champagne even though they contain a lot of calories. You just take these into account when you do the maths!

With no domestic chores to do when staying in a hotel, I find there is more time for active pursuits than at home. I went on a long walk with the family before lunch on one day and a long shopping trip on another!  It wasn’t enough to burn all the excesses of the day, but every little helps!

I gained about 3lbs over the weekend which all things considered was not too bad! Having returned, its back to The Eat Well Plate  NHS food plan and eating a little less than normal for a week or so until I’ve lost the extra weight! Snacking on extra fruit and vegetable based soups helps control hunger between meals!

What would your indulgences be for your weekend away?

About Sneha

I am a pharmacist and homeopath and have advised people for many years on issues to do with health, weight and well being. My role has involved navigating my way through the burdensome and sometimes conflicting volume of information and advice from health experts about with what constitutes a healthy diet, what foods to avoid if you want to lose weight and the importance of exercise in weight control and maintaining health. Despite all this information being available, obesity in the UK continues to rise. Knowledge is one thing, but putting it into practice is another! Having lost 3 stones since the birth of my second child, people have been asking me how I did it. That's what has inspired me to write this blog and share my experiences in the hope that it inspires others to find their own path to achieving their health and beauty goals!
This entry was posted in slimming and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

