Salads dressed or naked?


A salad without dressing is not good for your health – apparently. I nearly always eat salads without the dressing simply because I don’t like it. On the rare occasion I do, it is a soya sauce and chilli based dressing without any oil! If this article on Why we need fat in our salad is to be believed, I may not be getting the full benefit of all the nutrients in my salad without a fat based dressing. Apparently the fat helps the absorbtion of certain nutrients in the salad. If that’s true then is it possible that the fat from other foods that I might eat with the salad will help absorbtion of those same nutrients? I suspect so. One fact that is more believable is the merits of monounsaturated oils. So if I am ever tempted to use a fat based salad dressing, olive oil it will be then!

About Sneha

I am a pharmacist and homeopath and have advised people for many years on issues to do with health, weight and well being. My role has involved navigating my way through the burdensome and sometimes conflicting volume of information and advice from health experts about with what constitutes a healthy diet, what foods to avoid if you want to lose weight and the importance of exercise in weight control and maintaining health. Despite all this information being available, obesity in the UK continues to rise. Knowledge is one thing, but putting it into practice is another! Having lost 3 stones since the birth of my second child, people have been asking me how I did it. That's what has inspired me to write this blog and share my experiences in the hope that it inspires others to find their own path to achieving their health and beauty goals!
This entry was posted in Food & Health and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Salads dressed or naked?

  1. sybaritica says:

    I like salads naked, but if I’m cooking anything that spatters, I prefer to be dressed 🙂

    Seriously though, good post … we are only scratching the surface in our understanding on how nutrients interact. Fad foods keep appearing, get touted as healthy for you, and people jump on the bandwagon. In so many cases, it all ends up being pointless unless the nutrient in question is consumed along with, and in the correct proportion to, other food substances.

  2. I like salads naked too, and perhaps if you eat some bread with butter/vegetable spread with a salad that works in the way the dressing would? There’s far too much attention to faddy details in the food department, in my opinion. My grandmother was a nutritionist and advocated a good balanced diet, with a bit of everything you need in it, not specifics about whether or not to pour something on your salad leaves. I think it’s just a way to get people to buy stuff.

Leave a Reply

