Is anti-ageing just skin deep?


Do anti-ageing creams work? The fact that I don’t know doesn’t prevent me from using my No7 Protect and Perfect Intense Serum and Day Cream every day. After all, when fighting the ageing process is my mantra, it is a risky strategy to wait and see whether my friends who do use anti-ageing creams remain youthful whilst I use an ordinary moisturiser and watch for signs of wrinkles.

It would seem that leading brands of anti-ageing creams however do have doubts about the effectiveness of their products. If they do really work, is there any need to airbursh the celebrities used in their advertising campaigns? Or is it the case that celebrities do not necessarily use the products they promote and need to be made to look as though they do? Either way, this does not promote confidence that we are spending our money wisely in the fight against ageing!

For me, the secret to a more youthful look is not just skin deep and is likely to involve a combination of factors. I don’t underestimate the benefit of eating plenty of fresh fruit and vegetables. Many of these are rich in antioxidants such as vitamins A and C which are also found in many anti-ageing creams and serums. I also believe it is important to maintain a constant healthy weight. Skin stretches when we are overweight and doesn’t always return to its former elasticity when we lose the weight again. I have fallen victim to this myself because in spite of having lost 3 stones after my second pregnancy and returning to my pre-pregnancy size, the skin around my tummy is saggy and wrinkled! Drinking plenty of water, avoiding smoking, moderate exercise and having good (or lucky) genes probably also play a part.

So am I ready to ditch the anti-ageing creams and follow a more natural approach? Well, most of us don’t need convincing about the need for daily moisturising and if I’m going to buy one, I may as well buy one that at least claims to make me look younger. The optimist in me hopes the claim is true and that in a few years, people will think I look younger than I really am.  The fight against ageing sounds rather exhausting I know but then for another of my beliefs – every little helps!

What is your weapon against ageing?

About Sneha

I am a pharmacist and homeopath and have advised people for many years on issues to do with health, weight and well being. My role has involved navigating my way through the burdensome and sometimes conflicting volume of information and advice from health experts about with what constitutes a healthy diet, what foods to avoid if you want to lose weight and the importance of exercise in weight control and maintaining health. Despite all this information being available, obesity in the UK continues to rise. Knowledge is one thing, but putting it into practice is another! Having lost 3 stones since the birth of my second child, people have been asking me how I did it. That's what has inspired me to write this blog and share my experiences in the hope that it inspires others to find their own path to achieving their health and beauty goals!
This entry was posted in Beauty and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Is anti-ageing just skin deep?

  1. It’s very interesting, this whole business of anti-ageing creams and lotions. There is such enormous demand for some sort of elixir to slow down the ageing process and make us look younger that we’re willing to believe in just about anything that makes encouraging claims. I honestly think that genes play a big part in it, and the type of skin you’re born with, but I agree with you that eating and drinking well contributes to healthy skin, as well as healthy organs, etc. I think that in general the healthier you feel on the inside, the better you look on the outside, although people often tell me I’m looking tired even when I feel fine, because I have naturally pale skin. I’m sure that exercising regularly helps too, because it gets the blood pumping and revitalises you. One thing I’ve noticed with my skin type, that isn’t always the case with other people, is that direct sunlight can have an ageing effect. If your skin is sensitive and prone to wrinkles, drying it out in the sun isn’t going to help it look fresh and young, but I have friends with oily skin who just glow and look a whole lot better after being in the sun. If only we weren’t so obsessed with this life would be easier, but alas, I think it’s always going to be an issue!

  2. Sneha says:

    The ageing effect of the sun has been researched and documented extensively and I believe it. That is why I always use a sunscreen on holiday even though I am Asian. The added benefit of a good sunscreen is that it protects against UVB rays, which are thought to be a risk factor for skin cancer.

    It’s a shame that we link good health with a more tanned complexion. In Asia, pale skin is seen as a sign of beauty; so much so that the effort to cover up and avoid tanning leads to them developing vitamin D deficiency and possibly osteoporosis.

    Humans are obsessive and it seems we can never be satisfied. I believe everything in moderation, including time in the sun!

Leave a Reply

