Free Beauty Samples – Walk this Way


Do you like to try before you buy? In my battle against ageing, I’m willing to admit that I’m always in pursuit of the next innovative beauty product to help me win the war. But mistakes can be expensive and also damaging to sensitive skin like mine.

I’ve discovered there’s no better place to obtain free samples than along South Molton Street in London. Whilst on my my to Fenwick’s to meet friends last week, I was stopped no less than five times by eager sales assistants looking for innocent prey and I fell right into their lair. In spite of my protests about keeping my friends waiting, I found myself walking into their store anyway to listen to their sales pitch after which I was rewarded with a sample of something. Here is what I picked up within fifteen minutes!

IMG_0134

But beware. Don’t do this walk when you’re all dressed and made up for a party. The sales assistant at Orogold cosmetics convinced me that the eye serum that magically dissolves wrinkles can be worn over make up. He is so wrong. I walked out of the store, arguably perhaps with reduced crows’ feet but with two white patches under my eyes and my compact powder smeared. And no I didn’t notice until the sales assistant at Nails Inc whilst buffing up my nails politely suggested I go to the powder room when I get to my party.  I might have felt better about the incident had the Orogold sales assistant not shown such disapproval over my current eye serum of choice (Clarins) or given me a free sample of the Orogold eye serum instead of the moisturiser!

Am  I tempted to buy the Orogold eye serum? No because I was lied to. Perhaps the sales assistant was lying about how effective the product is too. At an eye-watering £148 for a teensy tube,  it’s not worth the risk. I value honesty, shared values and most of all mutual respect. The sales assistant at Nails Inc. literally nailed it. The buff he used reduced the ridges on my nails and delivered a beautiful shine at the end and three days later, they’re still shining – well two of them anyway. I would have waited for him to do all ten nails but my friends were wondering where I was. That nail buff is now on my must have list.

As for the Orogold moisturiser , will I use my free sample? I will dutifully pack it in my cosmetic bag for my next weekend away. But after that, the only gold I’ll be wearing will be in my ears and around my neck.

About Sneha

I am a pharmacist and homeopath and have advised people for many years on issues to do with health, weight and well being. My role has involved navigating my way through the burdensome and sometimes conflicting volume of information and advice from health experts about with what constitutes a healthy diet, what foods to avoid if you want to lose weight and the importance of exercise in weight control and maintaining health. Despite all this information being available, obesity in the UK continues to rise. Knowledge is one thing, but putting it into practice is another! Having lost 3 stones since the birth of my second child, people have been asking me how I did it. That's what has inspired me to write this blog and share my experiences in the hope that it inspires others to find their own path to achieving their health and beauty goals!
This entry was posted in Beauty and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

