Not keen on greens?


My 8 year old son refused any green vegetables when he was weaned at 4 months old. Since then, he has only managed the odd teaspoon of peas or oddly enough, okra (or ladies fingers). My daughter is not much of a fan of the green stuff either.

Whilst doing an online Tesco shop a few months ago, I discovered frozen vegetables and fruit for my beloved nutribullet so that I can make smoothies in an instant.

IMG_0163

Starting with the spinach and kale smoothie mix, I then added frozen pineapple, freshly sliced orange and Granny Smith apple for breakfast. I didn’t manage more than a quick slurp. My normally disinterested children grabbed the smoothie, tasted and didn’t stop until the glass was drained.

Yes there was a lot of fruit and therefore sugar in the smoothie but probably less than you’ll find in the average breakfast cereal these days. If you’re on a low carb diet, you can substitute some of the additional fruit with baby spinach, celery or spring greens. I add chia seeds for protein to my smoothie but not for the kids.

IMG_0157

To keep the kids interested, I vary the additional fruit I use, sometimes using green grapes, gala apples, pears or fresh nectarines, none of which spoil the vibrant green colour. A few strawberries won’t result in an unappetising brown sludge but avoid other berries if the colour matters.

The kids willingly drink a glass of this every day if I can be bothered to make it. The lesson I’ve learnt is not to give up exploring ways of encouraging kids to eat healthily. Lead by example and be a good role model. You just never know when they’re ready to follow in your footsteps.

About Sneha

I am a pharmacist and homeopath and have advised people for many years on issues to do with health, weight and well being. My role has involved navigating my way through the burdensome and sometimes conflicting volume of information and advice from health experts about with what constitutes a healthy diet, what foods to avoid if you want to lose weight and the importance of exercise in weight control and maintaining health. Despite all this information being available, obesity in the UK continues to rise. Knowledge is one thing, but putting it into practice is another! Having lost 3 stones since the birth of my second child, people have been asking me how I did it. That's what has inspired me to write this blog and share my experiences in the hope that it inspires others to find their own path to achieving their health and beauty goals!
This entry was posted in Food & Health and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

