I feel like Gin tonight


Whatever the problem – wine is the solution – except when it comes to fighting the flab. For months, I have blamed my small and yet perfectly formed stomach bulge on the C-section I had when my gorgeous son was born. This argument has two flaws. The first is that this operation was eight years ago and the second is my ambivalence to date about how much wine I am drinking.

I made a decision some time ago that to keep the weight off, I had to choose between drinking alcohol and having desert and wine won that battle. Sadly, I have to admit that portion control applies as much to wine as it does to food.

So I’m going to try an experiment. For the next four weeks, I’m going to stick to current health recommendations of not exceeding 14 units of alcohol per week. Those who know and love me will be shocked by this attempt and will probably conclude that this temporary insanity is due to a mid life crisis. IMG_1383

Of course I fear failure. An evening out is not wining and dining when one of the components is missing and I don’t think diet coke is in keeping with what one of my friends describes as my zest for life. But I have a safety net. A gin and slimline tonic has about half the calories as a medium glass of red wine so some substitutions are in order.

But what I fear the most is the risk of losing the hard earned title I share with my hubby- “The Champagne Charlies” – because my favourite drink of all time also has the most calories. Champagne clearly doesn’t just go to your head.

 

 

 

About Sneha

I am a pharmacist and homeopath and have advised people for many years on issues to do with health, weight and well being. My role has involved navigating my way through the burdensome and sometimes conflicting volume of information and advice from health experts about with what constitutes a healthy diet, what foods to avoid if you want to lose weight and the importance of exercise in weight control and maintaining health. Despite all this information being available, obesity in the UK continues to rise. Knowledge is one thing, but putting it into practice is another! Having lost 3 stones since the birth of my second child, people have been asking me how I did it. That's what has inspired me to write this blog and share my experiences in the hope that it inspires others to find their own path to achieving their health and beauty goals!
This entry was posted in Food & Health, slimming and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

