My 4-Week Wine Diary – Final Week


I have not failed anything since my driving test – until now. AA will be proud to have me and sadly I’m not still talking cars.

I used to scoff at the advice given to many dieters about keeping a food diary. Having kept a wine diary for the past 4 weeks, this is what I have learnt:

  • The recommended upper limit of 14 units of alcohol per week is my weekly minimum.
  • 14 units per week is a ridiculously small limit.
  • If all women who drink consume less than 14 units per week, the wine industry will go bankrupt.
  • I have a new found respect for dieters and Stoptober fans.

But seriously, the most important thing I’ve learnt is that the first step towards change is in recognising our starting point- where we are now so to speak. Through my wine diary,  I know how much I drink, when I enjoy drinking the most and when I’m drinking for the sake of it. That self awareness led me to saying No to a glass of wine on Saturday evening – because Hubby was drinking beer and the wine by the glass was mediocre at best. Hubby has not recovered from the shock but wait ’till he learns that now, I only drink “fine” wines.

I’ve also learnt that change has to happen with both heart and mind and I failed my mission because my heart wasn’t in it. To be successful, I need to find something I love just as much as the habit I’m trying to change, but for me, that replacement hasn’t yet been invented.

The most valuable lesson of all is that my friends, who were wagering that I will fail my mission know me better that I know myself – and that’s priceless.

I drank 20 units in my final week. As for the belly fat – anyone know of a good liposuctioner?

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

About Sneha

I am a pharmacist and homeopath and have advised people for many years on issues to do with health, weight and well being. My role has involved navigating my way through the burdensome and sometimes conflicting volume of information and advice from health experts about with what constitutes a healthy diet, what foods to avoid if you want to lose weight and the importance of exercise in weight control and maintaining health. Despite all this information being available, obesity in the UK continues to rise. Knowledge is one thing, but putting it into practice is another! Having lost 3 stones since the birth of my second child, people have been asking me how I did it. That's what has inspired me to write this blog and share my experiences in the hope that it inspires others to find their own path to achieving their health and beauty goals!
This entry was posted in slimming, wellbeing. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

